Darkness & Light


November 21, 2012
written @ 6:32 p.m.




The Whitest Snow


In your winter wonderland
I could not stay
I could not stay
You took me by the hand
I slipped away
I slipped away
You always walked two steps ahead
And all I did was slip instead
Your confident smile would let me know
We were okay
We were okay
But I�d die a little more inside
With every minute, in every stride
This pain so deep I could not hide
My painted smile, it always lied
I needed more than just your word
A melodic kiss or sweet embrace
I needed something, something to anchor me to this place
And as the sun set in the sky
Trying to smile I started to cry
I turned to you for a final goodbye
A single tear shed from your eye
All these memories that we had come to know
Were now buried beneath the whitest snow
And as the chill wind began to blow
I knew it was time for me to go
My heart it raced but my feet walked slow
My fists clenched tight and my head hung low
As endless questions began to flow
Was I all wrong?
Did this bird deserve another song?
Could I keep pretending that I was free?
As my feathered wings were cut before me?
Why was it so hard to see?
Had the snow really blinded me?
Or was it my troubled heart?
Who couldn�t fathom another start?
And the wind pushed me further away
As I contemplated my stay
But I knew that I must go
For summer birds do not belong� in the snow.




Info:
Welcome
Recent
Disclamer
Index
Realm Of Light
Realm Of Darkness
Notes
Host
Email Me