Darkness & Light


April 21, 2019
written @ 1:46 a.m.




Katy Perry


What a slap in the face when the love of my life,
As he broke my heart with his jagged knife.

When he blew me away with his verbal loaded gun,
And he got out of my car for a brief moment, when it was all said and done.

I sat there in the dark, as the radio began to play,
A song by Katy Perry, The one that got away…

I will never forget,
The tears that flooded my car that night,
The sorrow, the rage, the fears, that took flight.

We were the show I tuned into each day,
We were the light that I’d turn to and pray,
I believed in us, how could I not?
When the way we met was pure magick, a long shot.

And as the song played, my eyes did swell,
My breathing shallow, my soul a shell.

As he came back, got in my car and drove us away,
I really hoped he could feel my pain, change his mind and stay.

He could always feel me, but he’d close that door,
I was no longer his muse, he didn’t want to feel me anymore.

I will never forget that night, how my heart crumbled inside my chest,
How the song played on cue, as mockery, I guess,
How the crisp air rushed through his open door,
As a physical manifestation of how he didn’t love me anymore,
How we drove quietly back home,
How I laid in bed that night all alone.

We were a spectacular sunrise,
Until my sun set,
There’s so much about us that I will never forget,
For some might not understand what they had, until it can no longer be found
But we are true magick, we are soul-bound.

And when old and grey, one day soon,
He’ll understand while trying to reach for stars, he lost his only moon.
And though it might be him, who was the one that went astray,
Time and wisdom will show him, I’m the one who truly got away.

Info:
Welcome
Recent
Disclamer
Index
Realm Of Light
Realm Of Darkness
Notes
Host
Email Me